The Sick Drink Recipe

I’ve been lying around the apartment sick with a cold for the past two days.  Since I’m only mildly to moderately ill, I haven’t taken any medication.  I have, however, consumed what I call the Sick Drink, a concoction devised by my Boyfriend’s Russian Jewish dad, in an effort to sweat out my cold.  Since I’m not a medical professional, I can’t explain exactly how “sweating it out” is an effective treatment.  However, if you find yourself with cold-like symptoms, don’t like popping pills, and have the luxury of lounging around for a few hours, try this recipe:

  1. Make a cup of hot tea.  Black tea is ideal.
  2. Add 1 Tbsp of honey.  Stir until there is no honey left on the spoon.
  3. Add 1 Tbsp of cognac.
  4. Juice ¼ of a lemon into the mixture.
  5. Swaddle yourself in a thick blanket.
  6. Drink the mixture.
  7. Sweat for at least half an hour before taking blanket off.
  8. Repeat three times a day.

If you don’t feel better within a few days, you can blame it on the Jews.

About awesomebitch

Intolerant, elitist, and awesome.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

