April 24, 2011 Boyfriend Malapropism: Particles of Speech

The Boyfriend loves to argue with me when he misspells or mispronounces words and names.  I keep an updated record of his lexical faux pas.

On the plane ride from D.C. to San Francisco:

me: It’s so cool that we actually saw a bar menu in D.C. that categorized drinks as “pre-prandial” and “post-prandial.”

Boyfriend: Is “prandial” a noun or an adjective?  Or both?

me: That’s a good question, actually.  I don’t know.

Boyfriend: Is it a verb?

me: No.

Boyfriend: Is it an adverb?  An object?  A subject?

me: No, no, no.

Boyfriend: Is it a particle?

me: laughs

Boyfriend: What?

me: Now you’re combining sixth grade science with sixth grade grammar.  Ok, kids, now count the approximate number of dirt particles you see under your microscope.

Boyfriend: Ok…but is it a particle?

me: Definitely not.

Boyfriend: Why isn’t “prandial” a particle?

me (chanting to self): You are my boyfriend, and I love you.  You are my boyfriend, and I love you.

Boyfriend (after much thought): I don’t understand.

me (sighing laboriously): When you say “particle,” you mean “article.”

Boyfriend: Well, whatever.  I just got “article” and “past participle” mixed up.

Note: “Prandial,” as we found out later, is an adjective and not a noun.

About awesomebitch

Intolerant, elitist, and awesome.
This entry was posted in Boyfriend Malapropisms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April 24, 2011 Boyfriend Malapropism: Particles of Speech

  1. Tom G says:

    “particle” is a valid grammatical class (although it’s pretty clear prandial would not fall in that class)

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grammatical_particle

Leave a Reply

