Fake Designer Handbags from China

While we’re on the topic of what Chinese people are doing nowadays, I’m going to vent about the fake designer handbags my mother keeps sending me.  She has bought countless counterfeit bags masquerading as legit designer bags in China in the last few years and has sent me two of them in the past year.  She would’ve sent me more if I hadn’t refused.  Here are the fake Chanel and Louis Vuitton bags she gave me:

Cost: 888 yuan ($137)
Signs of fakeness: authenticity card is the wrong color, no hologram or serial number attached to interior, smells like cheap imitation leather

Cost: 650 yuan ($100)
Signs of fakeness: fake serial number, misspelled authenticity card

I’m not trying to be ungrateful, and I wouldn’t object if a) they didn’t cost so damn much and b) my mother didn’t try to convince me that they are authentic.  I believe in spending big money on luxury handbags, but if you are going to buy an imitation for over $100, you might as well save up and get the real deal.  $100 is just too much to pay for something fake.  It’s also perfectly fine to spend much less than $100 on a bag that looks nice but doesn’t pretend to be more than it is.

The problem is that my parents don’t understand the definition of authenticity in the context of handbags.  They think that if an imitation is of good quality and visually similar to the real deal, it equates with the real deal.  In most other aspects of life, this is true.  But like jewelry, handbags don’t work like that.  Cubic zirconia might look just as good as diamond, but it’s not diamond, and for someone who wants to wear diamonds for the sole purpose of knowing that she is wearing diamonds, cubic zirconia doesn’t work.  Similarly, a fake handbag, for me, doesn’t serve its purpose.  The part that annoys me the most is that my parents get angry when I explain this to them.  I really need to tell them, once and for all, to stop buying fake shit for me.

I have totally earned my spot on White Whine now.

About awesomebitch

Intolerant, elitist, and awesome.
This entry was posted in Daily Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fake Designer Handbags from China

  1. Jonathan van Belle says:

    Send them fake photographs of yourself.
    Some random person (that doesn’t look like you) in a car with the caption:
    “Me in my new Civic.”

    And add: “Fake is the New Real.”

  2. Pingback: 5 Secret Things Chinese Parents do to Their Kids at Home | awesomebitch

Leave a Reply

