Dinner at Oola Restaurant and Bar

The Boyfriend took me to Oola for dinner last week for no reason, because he’s just awesome like that.  He had actually made a 9:30pm reservation for Blu Restaurant but we found out at the last minute that they stopped serving food at 9:30pm sharp, so off to Oola we went.

I have been to Oola many times since 2007, and it is one of my favorite restaurants ever.  It is the place I go when I want some gustatory orgasms, and they have never disappointed me.  Since I was in a beefy mood, I ordered the Steak and Caviar, a rectangular prism of steak tartare with a thin layer of caviar and a raw quail egg on top, for my appetizer.  (In the past, they’ve served the tartare as a flat cylinder with the quail egg but without caviar, so I guess they’re simultaneously upgrading and switching it up).  Oola’s steak tartare is perfect–the meat is fresh and not too mustard-y or salty, which allows you to taste the rawness of the meat without distraction.  For his appetizer, the Boyfriend had the Potato Leek Soup, which was a very good soup but not anything special, especially compared to the other appetizers on the menu.

steak tartare and caviar

potato leek soup

We both ordered medium rare Pan Roasted Filet Mignons for entrees, and they were very, very delicious.  (The Boyfriend originally wanted chicken and foie gras ravioli, but they had run out–the one drawback of the meal.)  It had been a while since I’d had steak, and I was especially grateful to eat something decent after my eggs benedict incident earlier in the day.  Our steak was served on top of a parmesan-infused potato gratin surrounded by an assortment of butter-fried veggies that included Brussels sprouts and cauliflowers.  (Oola is the only restaurant in the world that can get me to eat–and like–cauliflower.)  Everything was covered in a mouth-watering Perigourdine sauce that was so good I suspected for a moment that it was laced with truffle oil.  I don’t even know exactly what Perigoudine sauce is, but theirs kept me eating nonstop long after my stomach told me slow down.

filet mignon with potato gratin

Since we were so full from our appetizers and entrees, we didn’t have room for dessert or the truffle fries I normally order when I go there.  But there’s always next time, which I hope won’t be too far in the future.

About awesomebitch

Intolerant, elitist, and awesome.
This entry was posted in Daily Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

