Dinner at Blu Restaurant

We had dinner at Blu Restaurant two weeks ago, where we redeemed the $25 for $50 worth of food coupon the Boyfriend acquired on Pinchit.  Despite the restaurant’s central location, I’d never noticed it before because it was overshadowed by The Sports Club/LA dominating that intersection.  If you’ve walked past the Sports Club, you’ve walked past Blu.

From where we sat in the restaurant, we had a nice, 4th-floor view of Grant Avenue with its Ionic architecture and Saks Fifth Avenue banners, which was a pleasant departure from the Victorian hipster squalor that defines most of San Francisco.  I started off the meal with a tasty cocktail (whose name I can’t remember) that contained Skyy Blue, blue curacao, and real blueberries.

For appetizers, we ordered the Ahi Poke and Fava Bean Bruschetta.  Both tasted great, but since I was starving, I scarfed down the poke without paying too much attention to the details.  However, I do remember that the chili oil on the bruschetta had a distinct, orange-y flavor I’d never encountered before.  I also remember that the wonton crisps accompanying the poke were fluffier, softer, and more buttery than most chips that come with ceviches.

For my entree, I ordered the Grilled Prather Ranch Top Sirloin because I will still hungry after the appetizer, and nothing less than steak would fill me up.  I told the waitress that I wanted my steak medium-rare; we discovered, after I started eating, that the steak she brought me was actually rare, but that was ok, as I was too hungry to be picky and it turned out to be a good steak anyway.  The sides were slightly unconventional; what I thought was mashed potato was actually whipped garbanzos, which added a pleasant, unexpected flavor to the dish.  I was less fond of the artichokes, which tasted generally weird and had these awful skins that were too hard to be swallowed, no matter how much I chewed.

The Boyfriend had the Oxtail and Tomato Ragout for his entree.  I tried too little of it to remember what it tasted like.  The Boyfriend remembers liking it but doesn’t remember why.

About awesomebitch

Intolerant, elitist, and awesome.
This entry was posted in Daily Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dinner at Blu Restaurant

  1. Hi,
    From the owner of Blu, thank you for your review!
    I’m a Boston owner also!

Leave a Reply

