Boarding a Plane Without ID

This post is mostly for people who need advice about boarding planes after losing their IDs.  The advice is: don’t worry.  They’ll let you on if you are who you say you are.

Last week, I lost my driver’s license, the only form of ID I had, before boarding a plane from Las Vegas to San Francisco.  I couldn’t have a passport mailed to me in time, and I didn’t have a social security card, birth certificate, or any credit/debit cards (those had been lost along with my ID).  I had only a Xerox of my passport, which was pretty useless for official purposes.  I approached a dude at the ticket counter who directed me to airport security who told me to proceed through the check-in line.  At check-in, another dude phoned some high-up security office that asked me a series of basic questions to verify that I was who I said I was.  Questions included where I had lived in my life and when, permanent and present addresses, birth date, and parents’ names.  I answered them correctly, and they let me through.

So if you find yourself ID-less after a night of drunken debauchery and about to board a plane, there’s no need to panic.

And on that note, happy Fourth of July.

About awesomebitch

Intolerant, elitist, and awesome.
This entry was posted in Daily Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

